Little Nuggets about Leadership

Recently there has been some stuff going on again in one of the areas in my life. the past maybe 2 1/2 years has been a little hard. I feel like my position at my church is fake in a way. I feel like I have never been properly taught how to be a “leader” which kind of sounds weird because I should know. I know I lack in that area pretty badly and I do not want to be THAT person and blame it on someone else because they may have not taught me. I am going to try my hardest to not play the blame game but focus on a way that I can try and change what I know about leadership and what God expects of it from the leaders in his body.

 

Today I caught up on a devotional I started on the YouVersion app. Its of course one about Leadership since I want to know about it and what God expects of us. I want to be aware of Gods standards for his leaders in the church. So as a refresher for when I look back on this post I will be reminded of his vision for me and his people in general.

 

When it comes to character, it isn’t shaped by intellectual comprehension of truth. It’s forged by biblical truth that penetrates to the depth of the human heart. Which will only happens as we grapple and wrestle with God’s word and take time to contemplate the meaning of it and how we will apply it to our daily lives.

When we take time to read God’s word and study it, we let it sink in and start to take root in our heart and mind. We become aware of how truly powerful and all knowing he is and once he has revealed to us just how powerful he is, he instill a fear in us. Not a fear that makes us want to run away but the type of fear that shows respect and obedience.

  

then you will understand the fear of the Lord
    and find the knowledge of God.
– Proverbs 2 : 5

 

When you are a leader or become a leader you have a set of qualifications that are expected of you. It’s really awesome because what I learned for this devotional was that Samuel was fooled. We often judge people who we think will be good leaders based off of their looks and even social media pages nowadays. Because certain people can purchase specific things or maybe go on mission trips all the time or being the head of a group each camp, then surly God is going to pick that person to be the leader. BUT, I love this part, God does not pick us to be leaders based off of what we do outwardly. Yes doing things outwardly is a marvelous thing but God will always always always look at our inner self. Our inward character, as the devotional put it.

Here are a few quotes and bible verses from that devo that stood out to me a lot:

       “Qualifications for leadership is not measured by inches or pounds or degrees or background.”

 But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”
– 1 Samuel 16: 7

As a leader in a church you’re always making some type of decision. During the time that leads up to the final decisions, we are supposed to make sure that we look to God for guidance and what he wants for us and his body. Decision making is hard especially when you’re in charge of leading a big group of people who are trusting in where you help guide them. We’re the choice we make, we have to approach them in  a way that makes it just, right and fair. No matter what you will more than likely always end up with someone who is unsatisfied you cannot please everyone but you also have to remember that ultimately its not about pleasing people, its about pleasing God and being a good and faithful servant who obeys him.

Decision Making Highlights:

A leader must develop a disciplined and prudent character so that they will so what is right, just and fair.

The proverbs of Solomon, son of David, king of Israel:

 To know wisdom and instruction,
    to understand words of insight,
 to receive instruction in wise dealing,
    in righteousness, justice, and equity;
 to give prudence to the simple,
    knowledge and discretion to the youth—
 Let the wise hear and increase in learning,
    and the one who understands obtain guidance,
 to understand a proverb and a saying,
– Proverbs 1: 1 – 6

 

A bit about Humility, it is so so so much easier accepting praise for ourselves and allowing our heads to inflate than it is to be humble and realize we are not this great human by our own doing. living in humility and being humble shows our fear in the Lord. Not the terrified fear but the fear that puts you in your place when it comes to knowing who is in charge and the most powerful. That being God. When we are good at what we do and accomplish, we are often rewarded and receive things, such as a promotion or bonuses or someone might even treat us to  a little something something. But someone who is humble will gain far greater wages. Stuff like storing treasure up in heaven.

 

There are strong people out there, both physically and emotionally. Often we look to a specific person because they motivate us and encourage us to better ourselves but a lot of the time I feel like we also end up envying them and become dependent on them. With anyone in our life that we admire, we began to start making a list of expectations that we expect for them to fulfill. People make mistakes though. They fail all the time, even multiple times in one day. No matter what, we cant look to others and God and expect for everything to be okay when it comes to living life daily.

Dependence on god Highlights:

When we make people the basis of our confidence, we experience rejection and disappointment again and again. But when God becomes the ultimate source of our confidence, we are never let down.

“Fear of man will probe to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe”
– Proverbs 29 : 25

Those who put more confidence in themselves or in other people than in God will find bitterness and disappointment in the end.

 

I am still learning. I will always still be learning. Slowly but surly God is revealing to me what it means to be a leader of his and I hope and pray that I will truly take this all to heart and allow him to transform me and grow me from my comfort zones. Pluck me from my comfy place and put me in the places and ares that you want me to bloom and take root in.

 

 

 

        

 

 

Leave a Reply

